Even with so many options to share with people over the internet these days, we might not want to share everything. Even on LinkedIn. Where it’s all about celebrating achievements and striving toward the completion of our goals. But, there still might be some things you want to keep to yourself. You may even want to change who can see your profile updates on LinkedIn.
Most of your information is hidden from anyone who isn’t a 1st-degree connection on LinkedIn but privacy has always been a top concern when sharing information online. It’s understandable that you want to be in control of who can view your information and profile updates.
If you weren’t already aware, enabling your profile updates to be shared with your network generates a post for your connections to see. So, when you begin a new job or complete a course, it will appear as a post on people’s feeds.
The feature is a great way to network with your connections. It keeps you up to date on what they are doing.
How To Keep Your Profile Updates Private
Click the ‘Me’ icon at the top of your LinkedIn feed.
Select ‘Settings & Privacy.’
From the left-hand menu, click ‘Visibility.’
Scroll down to ‘Visibility of your LinkedIn activity.’
Then, click ‘Share profile updates with your network.’
Now you can change this option from ‘Yes’ to ‘No.’
Another way to stay on top of who can see your profile updates on LinkedIn is by making use of the enable option. If you are adding or updating a section on your profile, at the bottom of the page, there will be an option to “Share with network”. Just like in your settings, turn this option to ‘Yes’ or ‘No’ depending on your preference.
LinkedIn has many options that put you in control of your visibility on the platform. Now that you know where to find them, why not go through and customise your account until you’re satisfied with what you’re sharing with your network.
I'm a Junior Copywriter, podcast host and author in training.