How to Merge LinkedIn Accounts | Maverrik | Business Growth Skip to content

How to Merge LinkedIn Accounts

How to Merge LinkedIn Accounts

A common question we get asked about is how to merge LinkedIn accounts. For whatever reason, there may be multiple accounts with the same name and credentials floating around which can leave people confused about which account is the real one. So, here is a simple 7 step guide to achieving this. 

Before we get started you will need the email address and password for the account you want to keep and the account you want to close. If you’ve lost the account and want to merge it you’ll have to go through the “forget password” process. If you don’t have access to the email account LinkedIn does offer an identity verification process.

7 Easy Steps to Merge Your Accounts 

Start by signing into the account you want to keep: 

  1. Click the Me icon at the top of your LinkedIn homepage.
  2. Select Settings & Privacy.
  3. Under the Subscriptions section of the Account tab, click Merge Accounts.
  4. Insert the email address and password for the account you want to close.
  5. Click Submit.
  6. Confirm that you are closing the right account and click Continue.
  7. Enter the password of the account you want to keep to confirm that you want to merge the accounts and click Submit.

When you merge the account it will transfer the connections from the duplicate account then close the remaining account. 

There are other options you can choose if you don’t want to merge the connections over, such as temporarily deactivating the account or close the account completely. 

What’s the benefit of merging accounts?

Mentioned before there can be a lot of confusion surrounding multiple accounts. Especially if you use the same profile pictures and information. Communication with potential clients can get lost and you’ll lose a lot of potential business through the confusion. It can be easy to lose track of accounts especially if you have certain accounts linked to your business email address or a new account specifically set up for new sales. 

Whatever the reason, make sure to close down old accounts as soon as possible, and work on building your new account as much as possible. For more advice and tips, check out the free training section. 

Luke Tew

Luke Tew

I'm Maverriks Head of Content. Helping people achieve business growth, sell using social and most of all Content Marketing!
Share on facebook
SHARE
Share on twitter
SHARE
Share on linkedin
SHARE

More to explore

How To Close An Online Sale featured image
Business Growth
Luke Tew

How To Close An Online Sale

As a successful network marketing professional, you need to learn how to close an online sale professionally. Most online training offered by companies are just

Read More