How to Merge and Close Duplicate LinkedIn Accounts - Maverrik Skip to content

How to Merge and Close Duplicate LinkedIn Accounts

How to Merge and Close Duplicate LinkedIn Accounts

They say imitation is the sincerest form of flattery…

However, this isn’t the case when imitation is stopping you from doing business. Here is how to merge and close duplicate LinkedIn Accounts.

If you’re here then you’ve probably found that you have more than one LinkedIn account. Both accounts may have valuable information or connections so it can be difficult to choose which one to close. Before you close either account, you have the option to merge them so you don’t lose anything.

There are a few reasons why your account could be duplicated and it isn’t always a cause for alarm. Still, duplicate accounts limit your actions on LinkedIn because the email you are trying to use is already in use somewhere else.

If you’re fed up with seeing these types of notifications then follow the simple steps below.

  • Sign in to the account you want to keep and click the ‘Me’ icon.
  • Click ‘Settings & Privacy’ from the drop-down menu.
  • From the menu on the left, click ‘Account preferences.’
  • Scroll down to ‘Account management and click ‘Merge accounts.’
  • Enter the email and password of the duplicate account.
  • Click submit.
  • Review what will be transferred over and click confirm.
  • Enter the password of the account you are keeping and click submit.

After this, you will be sent a confirmation email that the duplicate account has been closed and successfully merged with your current account.

If you’re unable to merge the accounts, it could be because one account has either 0 or more than 30k connections. Unfortunately, these accounts will just have to be closed if you no longer want the duplicate account open. It might be a good idea to make a note of any important information you need to copy into your current account. You can always add it manually when you have time.

If you do find that one of your accounts has 0 connections then you’re still able to close the account.

How To Close a Duplicate LinkedIn Account

  • Sign in to the zero connections account.
  • Go to ‘Settings & Privacy.
  • Find ‘Account preferences’ again.
  • Scroll all the way down to ‘Close account.

Wait 48 hours after you’ve sent the request and then you can add the closed account email to your remaining account. This will prevent duplicate accounts from appearing in the future under this email address.

If you can’t remember the passwords to one of your accounts then there are ways to recover this.

  • On the ‘sign in’ page of the account, click ‘forgot password.’
  • Enter the email address and click send code.
  • Enter the code to recover the account.

There you have it, two ways to merge and close duplicated LinkedIn Accounts. Once you’ve merged your account it’s time to work on growing your connections and building up your audience on your freshly merged account.

Skye Walshe-Winwood

Skye Walshe-Winwood

I'm a Junior Copywriter, podcast host and author in training.
Share on facebook
SHARE
Share on twitter
SHARE
Share on linkedin
SHARE

More to explore

How to Calculate Sales Revenue featured image
Business Growth
Luke Tew

How to Calculate Sales Revenue

Knowing how to calculate sales revenue doesn’t require a degree or special software. You only need an understanding of a few business-related terms. Here are

Read More

JOIN THE NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to get out latest content by email.